The 2018 North Star Holiday Resort Australian Bodyboard Titles wrapped up today with eight new Australian Bodyboard Champions being crowned.

Ziggy Bullock (Margaret River, WA), Patrick Franklyn (Palmyra, WA) flew the flag loud and proud for The Wildflower State taking out the Grommets (Under-14), Cadets (Under-16) and  Junior (Under-18) divisions respectively. Both Bullock and Franklyn performed an array of fast and flowy spins and rolls to earn the top spots and ensure the three titles head west to WA. Franklyn’s most notable performance came in the Junior Final when he posted a giant 18.50 two-wave heat total to claim top honours against the star-studded lineup.

Justin Kirkpatrick (Jan Juc, VIC) claimed the sole title for Victoria, taking out the Over-45 Men’s division. Kirkpatrick claimed two respective victories across his dual finals to claim top honours in the division and take the first place position.

Event standout and reigning Open Men’s Australian Champion, Nathan Wilson (Kiama, NSW) claimed his second title in as many years, taking out the blue-ribbon division. Wilson nailed a giant 12.65 two-wave heat total to get the upper hand in the heat and earn the top spot on the dais.

Millie Chalker (Tuncurry, NSW) found a buzzer-beater of a wave to claim the Open Women’s title in the dying moments of the heat. With the time ticking down, Chalker performed a series of maneuvers to post a 5.50 wave score which moved her from third to first and allowed her to claim the victory.

Wade Boree (Kotara, NSW) put on a respectable show in the Over-35 Men’s division to post an 11.65 two-wave heat total. Boree shone in the difficult afternoon conditions to claim the win ahead of Lloyd Llewellyn (Bli Bli, Qld) who finished in second.

After years of competing in the SAE Group Australian Surf Festival, Zachary Armytage (Wombarra, NSW) claimed his maiden title, taking out the Drop Knee title. Armytage posted a solid 11.50 heat total to get the win ahead of fellow New South Welshman Liam Douglas (Kiama, NSW) who finished in second by a 1.30 margin.

For results, photos and daily video highlights visit

2018 SAE Group Australian Surf Festival – Tweed Coast, NSW, August 10-27

– Opening Ceremony – August 10

– Australian Surfmasters Titles –August 19-23

– Australian Longboard Titles – August 10-18

– Australian Logger Titles – August 11-18

– North Star Holiday Resort Australian Bodyboard Titles – August 24-27

The 2018 SAE Group Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also proudly supported by Destination Tweed, SAE Group, North Star Holiday Resort, bcu, Hydralyte Sports, Hyundai, the Australian Institute of Sport, NBN,, 2XP Elemental Protection, Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW.


Grommets (Under-14)

1 – Ziggy Bullock (Margaret River, WA)

2 – Jai Taylor (Peregian Beach, Qld)

3 – Ryan Inglis (Buderim, Qld)

Cadets (Under-16)

1 – Patrick Franklyn (Palmyra, WA)

2 – Lachie Porter  (Buddina, Qld)

3 – Hayden Pisani  (Boat Harbour, NSW)

4 – Sam Giddy (Newport, NSW)

Juniors (Under-18)

1 – Patrick Franklyn (Palmyra, WA)

2 – Noah Gillroy (Maroubra, NSW)

3 – Hunter Nicholls (Kiama, NSW)

4 – Alex Boggis (Peregian Springs, Qld)

Open Women

1 – Mille Chalker (Tuncurry, NSW)

2 – Britt Ladley (Gold Coast, Qld)

3 – Rachel Summers (Casuarina, NSW)

4 – Melanie Kelly (Broadbeach, Qld)

Open Men

1 – Nathan Wilson (Kiama, NSW)

2 – Mauricio Abrunhosa (Dee Why, NSW)

3 – Aaron Newton (Karangi, NSW)

4 – Joel Haughan (Trigg, WA)

Over-35 Men

1 – Wade Boree (Kotara, NSW)

2 – Lloyd Llewellyn (Bli Bli, Qld)

3 – Mauricio Abrunhosa (Dee Why, NSW)

4 – Guy Derup (Highett, Vic)

Over-45 Men

1 – Justin Kirkpatrick (Jan Juc, Vic)

2 – Ricardo Riskalla (Mosman, NSW)

3 – Nick Taylor (Warriewood, NSW)

4 – Greg Purtle (Willow Vale, Vic)

Drop Knee

1 – Zachary Armytage (Wombarra, NSW)

2 – Liam Douglas (Kiama, NSW)

3 – Justin Kirkpatrick (Jan Juc, Vic)

4 – Stevie Maher (Yaroomba, Qld)