The North Star Holiday Resort Australian Bodyboard Titles recommenced at Duranbah Beach today as competitors edged closer to the pointy end of the competition.

Hunter Nicholls (Kiama, NSW) continued his dominance of two divisions, taking respective victories in the quarterfinals of the Under-18 Boys and the Open Men. Nicholls excelled in Duranbah’s punchy one-foot peaks, nailing a notable 15.50 two-wave heat total to claim the win in the Open Men.

Other Open Men’s quarterfinal winners included Mauricio Abrunhosa (Dee Why, NSW), Nathan Wilson (Kiama, NSW) and Joel Haughan (Trigg, WA). All aforementioned surfers will make their next appearance in the semi-finals.

Rachel Summers  (Casuarina, NSW) continued to build on yesterday’s highlight reel performance, claiming victory in her second round exchange. In the tightly contested affair, Summers managed to gain the upper hand and claim the win by a tiny 0.05 margin. When the 20-minute affair wrapped up, there was less than 1.00 points separating second, third and fourth.

Victorian bodyboarder Justin Kirkpatrick (Jan Juc, Vic) made a massive impression in the Over-45 Men, posting a solid 14.25 two-wave heat total to leave his fellow competitors chasing two-wave combinations to take away his lead. Competing across two-divisions, Kirkpatrick has now sealed his position into the final of the 45 Men’s division and the semi-finals of the Drop Knee division.

For results, photos and daily video highlights visit

2018 SAE Group Australian Surf Festival – Tweed Coast, NSW, August 10-27

– Opening Ceremony – August 10

– Australian Surfmasters Titles –August 19-23

– Australian Longboard Titles – August 10-18

– Australian Logger Titles – August 11-18

– North Star Holiday Resort Australian Bodyboard Titles – August 24-27

The 2018 SAE Group Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also proudly supported by Destination Tweed, SAE Group, North Star Holiday Resort, bcu, Hydralyte Sports, Hyundai, the Australian Institute of Sport, NBN,, 2XP Elemental Protection, Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW.