The 2018 SAE Group Australian Surf Festival saw six new Australian shortboard champions crowned today following a day of exciting heats in punchy long righthanders at Hastings Point.

Long regarded as one of Australia’s most talented and stylish surfers, Jay Phillips (Fingal, NSW) managed to claim his first ever Australian Title, taking out the Over-40 Men’s division. Phillps revelled in the long righthanders, nailing an array of different turns and carves to muster up a respectable 14.50 two-wave heat total and gain the upper hand against multiple Australian Title holder Mitch Dawkings (Nelson Bay, NSW), who ironically pipped Phillips for the title back in 2017.

Former World Championship Tour surfer Amee Donohoe (McMasters Beach, NSW) showed why she was a former tour surfer, taking out the Over-35 Women’s division. Donohoe put on a clinic of powerful frontside turns, over the duration of the heat, posting a near-perfect 9.50 wave score to get the edge over her rivals and claim her second Australian Title in as many years.

Multiple Australian Title holder Mark Richardson (Palm Beach, Qld) added another title to his portfolio, claiming the Over-45 Men’s title. Richardson found a handful of decent righthanders in the heat to post a near perfect 9.00 wave score which allowed him to sneak ahead of Marcus Davidson (Shelly Beach, NSW) who finished in the runner-up position by a 1.05 margin.

Claiming titles across the Over-50 and Over-55 Men’s division, Rod Baldwin (Copacabana, NSW) showed the energy and capabilities of surfers much younger, nailing an eclectic mix of backside turns to take the dual wins. Baldwin posted a 16.00 two-wave heat total to claim the Over-50’s as well as 13.75 to take out the Over-55’s.

Bruce Dunne (Coolum, Qld) ensured an Australian Title would return to the Sunshine Coast, taking out the Over-60 Men’s. After finishing in the runner-up position in the Over-55 Men’s division, Dunne proceeded to hit his stride in the elder division posting a decent 14.10 two-wave heat total for a barrage of solid backside turns which propelled him in-front of Grayme Galbraith (Jan Juc, Vic) who took second position. As a consolation prize, Galbraith managed to claim the SAE Power Performer of the Day award for his performance in the 60 Men’s semi-finals.

For results, photos and daily video highlights visit

2018 SAE Group Australian Surf Festival – Tweed Coast, NSW, August 10-27

– Opening Ceremony – August 10

– Australian Surfmasters Titles –August 19-23

– Australian Longboard Titles – August 10-18

– Australian Logger Titles – August 11-18

– North Star Holiday Resort Australian Bodyboard Titles – August 24-27

The 2018 SAE Group Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also proudly supported by Destination Tweed, SAE Group, North Star Holiday Resort, bcu, Hydralyte Sports, Hyundai, the Australian Institute of Sport, NBN,, 2XP Elemental Protection, Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW.


Over-35 Women

1 – Amee Donohoe (McMasters Beach, NSW)

2 – Lee Cooper (Coomera,Qld)

3 – Cheryl Peat (Christies Beach, SA)

4 – Jane Tranberg (Coolangatta, Qld)

5 – Kylie Bilsen-Neville (Qld)

Over-40 Men

1 – Jay Phillips (Fingal, NSW)

2 – Mitchell Dawkings (Nelson Bay, NSW)

3 – Damien Healy (Broadbeach, Qld)

4 – Sean Lancaster (Newcastle, NSW)

Over-45 Men

1 – Mark Richardson (Palm Beach, Qld)

2 – Marcus Davidson (Shelly Beach, NSW)

3 – Brett Bannister (Narrabeen, NSW)

4 – Mick Hassett (Miami, Qld)

Over-50 Men

1 – Rod Baldwin (Copacabana, NSW)

2 – Clive Stinton (Moffatt Beach, Qld)

3 – Nick Ryan (Mermaid Beach, Qld)

4 – Stuart Engel (Portland, Vic)

Over-55 Men

1 – Rod Baldwin (Copacabana, NSW)

2 – Bruce Dunne (Coolum, Qld)

3 – Andrew Johnson (Bulli, NSW)

4 – Rowan Sapwell (Jan Juc, Vic)

Over-60 Men

1 – Bruce Dunne (Coolum, Qld)

2 – Grayme Galbraith (Jan Juc,  Vic)

3 – Glenn Sharrock (Caves Beach, NSW)

4 – Neil Cameron (Byron Bay, NSW)