The SAE Australian Surf Festival saw three new Australian shortboard champions crowned today, following an eventful day of surfing in a rising swell at Duranbah Beach.

World-renowned for her prowess in massive waves, Felicity Palmateer (Margaret River, WA) showed she was more than capable of impressing people with her skills in beachbreak conditions, taking out the Open Women’s division. Palmateer linked together a chain of decent backside snaps and carves over the course of the final to get the edge over her opposition with a respectable 12.75 two-wave heat total. Fellow goofy-footer Sasha Baker (Mudjimba, Qld) put on a valiant performance over the course of the final, but was unable to muster up the excellent 8.05 wave score required to take away Palmateer’s lead.

Sunshine Coast natural-footer Cooper Davies (Noosa Heads, Qld) hit his peak in the Open Men’s final, nailing a handful of exciting rides. Davies posted a giant 15.35 two-wave heat total to gain the upper hand against local surfer Brent Savage (Cabarita, NSW) who unfortunately suffered an interference, which saw his second highest score, cut in half.

Mitch Dawkings (Nelson Bay, NSW) claimed his third Australian Title in as many years, taking out the Over-35 Men’s division. Dawkings shone in the final heat of the day, nailing a handful of solid forehand hits to post a respectable 11.75 two-wave heat total and claim the win ahead of Victorian goofy-footer Tim Birnie (Jan Juc, Vic) who took out the runner-up spot.

For results, photos and daily video highlights visit

2018 SAE Group Australian Surf Festival – Tweed Coast, NSW, August 10-27

– Opening Ceremony – August 10

– Australian Surfmasters Titles –August 19-23

– Australian Longboard Titles – August 10-18

– Australian Logger Titles – August 11-18

– North Star Holiday Resort Australian Bodyboard Titles – August 24-27

The 2018 SAE Group Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also proudly supported by Destination Tweed, SAE Group, North Star Holiday Resort, bcu, Hydralyte Sports, Hyundai, the Australian Institute of Sport, NBN,, 2XP Elemental Protection,  Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW.


Open Men

1 – Cooper Davies (Noosa Heads, Qld)

2 – Brent Savage (Cabarita, NSW)

3 – Noah Stocca (Peregian Beach, Qld)

4 – Ryan Slattery (Norah Head, NSW)

Open Women

1 – Felicity Palmateer (Margaret River, WA)

2 – Sasha Baker (Mudjimba, Qld)

3 – Sophia Fulton (Mollymook, NSW)

4 – Amber Dods (Sunrise Beach, Qld)

Over-35 Men

1 – Mitchell Dawkings (Nelson Bay, NSW)

2 – Tim Birnie (Jan Juc, Vic)

3 – Scott Schindler (Sawtell, NSW)

4 – Damien Healy (Broadbeach, Qld)