Australia has eight new national Longboard Champions following an action-packed day of surfing in clean two-foot peaks at Cabarita Beach, as part of the fourth day of the Australian Longboard Titles.

In what is his first Australian Title since 2010, local surfer Dane Pioli (Tweed Heads, NSW) used his powerful style and local knowledge to take the top spot on the dais. Pioli put on an impeccable display of surfing over the duration of his Australian Logger Title and Australian Longboard Title campaign to muster up a 13.50 heat total in the latter discipline and earn the fourth position in the Logger final.

In an ironic twist with Pioli, Ben Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic) managed to swap results in each respective discipline with the local competitor, claiming the win in the Open Loggers and finishing fourth in the Open Longboards. Considine put on a near-perfect display of retrospective surfing to take the Logs final, posting a mammoth 18.15 two-wave heat total. As a result of the score, the Victorian surfer left all his fellow competitors requiring two-wave combinations to steal his first place position.

2016 Junior Women’s Champion Tully White (Allambie Heights, NSW) went one step further in her 2017 campaign, claiming the Open Women’s Title. The Northern Beaches natural-footer played a patient game over the course of the 25-minute affair, only posting her highest wave score on her second last wave. White took the win ahead of fellow event standout and new Australian Junior Women’s Champion Emily Lethbridge (Noosaville, Qld) who made three individual finals over the course of the day.

All other results and heat totals can be found below.

The 2017 Australian Surf Festival continues tomorrow from 7:30am the more of the Australian Longboard Titles.

For all results and more information, please visit:

2017 Australian Surf Festival – Tweed Coast, NSW, July 28-August 14

– Opening Ceremony – July 28

– Australian Surfmasters Titles – July 29-August 2

– Australian Longboard Titles – August 2-10

– Australian Logger Titles – August 3-10

– Big 4 North Star Holiday Resort & Caravan Park Australian Bodyboard Titles – August 10-14

The 2017 Australian Surf Festival is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW. The event is also proudly supported by Destination Tweed, Big 4 North Star Holiday Resort & Caravan Park, bcu, Hydralyte Sports, Toyota, Pacific Longboarder, NBN,, Surfing Australia and Surfing NSW.

Results and Heat Totals:

Open Men

1 – Dane Pioli (Tweed Heads, NSW) 13.50

2 – Declan Wyton (Annandale, NSW) 11.55

3 – William Crowe (Collaroy, NSW) 11.35

4 – Ben Considine (Barwon Heads, Vic) 11.20

Open Women

1 – Tully White (Allambie Heights, NSW) 14.25

2 – Emily Lethbridge (Noosaville, Qld) 12.00

3 – Angela King (Torquay, Vic) 11.80

4 – Kirra Molnar (Noosa, Qld) 10.60

Open Loggers

1 – Ben Considine (Barwon Heads, NSW) 18.15

2 – Clinton Guest (Kawana, Qld) 15.85

3 – Max Weston (Avalon, NSW) 13.90

4 – Dane Pioli (Tweed Heads, NSW) 12.00

Over-35 Men

1 – Dean Bevan (Wellington Point, Qld) 13.25

2 – Jason Caldow (Buderim, Qld) 11.00

3 – Grant Ferguson (Long Jetty, NSW) 11.00

4 – Neil Thompson (Trigg, WA) 10.00

Over-35 Women

1 – Kirsty Best (Gold Coast, Qld) 15.25

2 – Kristy Quirk (Noosa, Qld) 11.80

3 – Trista Wagner (Tweed Heads, NSW) 7.95

4 – Erika Oemke (Port Noarlunga, SA) 6.55

Junior Logger

1 – Jye Whyatt (Suffolk Park, NSW) 15.15

2 – Aidan Feely (Moffat Beach, Qld) 14.25

3 – Zac Brewer (Castaways Beach, Qld) 11.80

4 – Emily Lethbridge (Noosaville, Qld) 7.70

Junior Boys

1 – Jye Whyatt (Suffolk Park, NSW) 17.00

2 – Aidan Feely (Moffat Beach, Qld) 13.50

3 – Zac Brewer (Castaways Beach, Qld) 11.10

4 – Marcus Whilock (Port Macquarie, NSW) 6.70

Junior Girls

1 – Emily Lethbridge (Noosaville, Qld) 13.25

2 – Felicity St. Baker (Noosa, Qld) 8.25

3 – Zali Corry (Mandurah, WA) 4.30